- Audrey Magazine - http://audreymagazine.com -

Get a K-pop Complexion: Audrey’s Guide to BB Cream

Posted By Anna Park On September 15, 2013 @ 11:00 am In audrey man,FASHION + BEAUTY,Shop,Style,Trends,Trends & Reviews,Tutorials | Comments Disabled

When Audrey first wrote about BB creams [1] in 2008, it was the latest thing in Korea. The oddly named “blemish balm” originated in Germany as a post-treatment cream for laser surgery patients and was later co-opted by Korean women to create the ssaeng-uhl (bare-faced look) coveted by the nation’s most beautiful actresses. (Even Korean men have taken to wearing BB cream.) Considered a staple in every Korean woman’s beauty regimen, BB cream is now sweeping the U.S., but thankfully for us, the newest iterations have a greater range of shades, coverage and textures.

When Harvard Business School grad Grace Choi first tried BB cream, she liked the finish but had trouble finding a formula that matched her skin tone, especially for different seasons. “I’m more yellow during the winter and more olive/brown during the summer,” says the 29-year-old Korean American. “Asian BB brands offer a very limited number of shades which do not suit the vast majority of diverse American women,” she adds. But she also found that many BB creams currently in the U.S. market didn’t give the same coverage and finish that the Asian BB creams were famous for. So Choi put her medical science background to use and formulated her own brand of BB cream. With 10 different shades, seven work for Asian skin: the Yellow line finishes more golden, while the Olive line has a more brown/tan undertone.

BB CREAM TIPS:

* Apply like you would a sunscreen. Put a dime size dollop on your fingers and spread evenly on face. The cream will sink in and adjust to your skintone.

* Apply with fingers, says Choi. “It’s much easier to control and spread than with a brush or sponge.”

* The right shade is important with BB cream. Use one that’s too light and it can look masky. Can’t find the exact shade or right texture in a BB cream? Because BB creams provide buildable coverage, you can mix and match for the perfect formulation. I like mixing a lighter textured cream in a more golden shade with a thicker one in a paler shade, like Estée Lauder with 3Lab, before blending on my face.

Here, we review the best BB creams out there (even one for men!).

Sheer Coverage

Sulwhasoo Snowise Brightening BB Base [2]

Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Skin Perfector  [3](great for young skin, BB novices)

DermaE Evenly Radiant BB Creme [4]

Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse BB Beauty Balm [5]

Dr. Lewinn by Kinerase Instant Perfecting BB Cream [6]

Vichy ProEven Mineral BB Cream [7]

Estée Lauder Day Wear BB Anti-Oxidant Beauty Benefit Creme [8]

AmorePacific Moisture Bound Tinted Treatment Moisturizer  [9]

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm [10]

AmorePacific Color Control Cushion Compact [11]

 

Sheer to Medium Coverage

Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream Bright Fit [12]

Amarté Natural Finish BB Cream [13] (an editor favorite!)

Shiseido Perfect Hydrating BB Cream [14] (another editor favorite)

Cailyn Precious Blend BB Cream [15] (broad range of 6 shades)

Garnier BB Cream Miracle Skin Perfector  [16]

Christina Choi Cosmetics BB Cream [17] (great shades for medium Asian to dark skin tones)

DHC BB Cream Foundation [18]

Comodynes Urban Cosmetics BB Color [19] (darker shades available)

 

Medium to Full Coverage

Grace Choi Porcelain Skin BB Cream [20] (the widest range of shades, especially for Asian skin, in either matte or dewy formulations)

Dr. Jart Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm  [21]

Dr. Jart+ Renewalist BB Beauty Balm [22]

3Lab Perfect BB Cream [23] (super anti-aging skincare ingredients)

Jane Iredale Glow Time Full Coverage Mineral BB Cream [24] (tons of shades available)

Too Faced Air-Buffed BB Creme [25] (an editor favorite!)

 

FOR MEN! (Yes, we haven’t forgotten you!)

Miracle Skin Transformer MEN SPF20 [26]

Tried any of the BB creams on this list? Tell us what you think!

Want us to test a BB cream for you? Let us know!


Article printed from Audrey Magazine: http://audreymagazine.com

URL to article: http://audreymagazine.com/get-a-k-pop-complexion-audreys-guide-to-bb-cream/

URLs in this post:

[1] Audrey first wrote about BB creams: http://audreymagazine.com/shop-audrey

[2] Sulwhasoo Snowise Brightening BB Base: http://audreymagazine.com/sulwhasoo-snowise-brightening-bb-base

[3] Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Skin Perfector : http://audreymagazine.com/maybelline-dream-fresh-bb

[4] DermaE Evenly Radiant BB Creme: http://audreymagazine.com/dermae-evenly-radiant-bb-creme

[5] Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse BB Beauty Balm: http://audreymagazine.com/dr-jart-water-fuse-bb-beauty-balm

[6] Dr. Lewinn by Kinerase Instant Perfecting BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/dr-lewinn-by-kinerase-instant-perfecting-bb-cream

[7] Vichy ProEven Mineral BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/vichy-proeven-mineral-bb-cream

[8] Estée Lauder Day Wear BB Anti-Oxidant Beauty Benefit Creme: http://audreymagazine.com/estee-lauder-daywear-anti-oxidant-beauty-benefit-creme

[9] AmorePacific Moisture Bound Tinted Treatment Moisturizer : http://audreymagazine.com/amorepacific-moisture-bound-tinted-treatment-moisturizer

[10] Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm: http://audreymagazine.com/urban-decay-naked-skin-beauty-balm

[11] AmorePacific Color Control Cushion Compact: http://audreymagazine.com/get-a-k-pop-complexion-amorepacific-color-control-cushion-compact

[12] Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream Bright Fit: http://audreymagazine.com/etude-house-precious-mineral-bb-cream

[13] Amarté Natural Finish BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/amarte-natural-finish-bb-cream

[14] Shiseido Perfect Hydrating BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/shiseido-perfect-hydrating-bb-cream

[15] Cailyn Precious Blend BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/cailyn-precious-blend-bb-cream

[16] Garnier BB Cream Miracle Skin Perfector : http://audreymagazine.com/garnier-bb-cream-miracle-skin-perfector

[17] Christina Choi Cosmetics BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/christina-choi-cosmetics-bb-cream

[18] DHC BB Cream Foundation: http://audreymagazine.com/dhc-bb-cream-foundation

[19] Comodynes Urban Cosmetics BB Color: http://audreymagazine.com/comodynes-urban-cosmetics-bb-color-skin-perfector

[20] Grace Choi Porcelain Skin BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/grace-choi-porcelain-skin-bb-cream

[21] Dr. Jart Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm : http://audreymagazine.com/dr-jart-black-label-detox-bb-beauty-balm

[22] Dr. Jart+ Renewalist BB Beauty Balm: http://audreymagazine.com/dr-jart-renewalist-bb-beauty-balm

[23] 3Lab Perfect BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/3lab-perfect-bb-cream

[24] Jane Iredale Glow Time Full Coverage Mineral BB Cream: http://audreymagazine.com/jane-iredale-glow-time-full-coverage-mineral-bb-cream

[25] Too Faced Air-Buffed BB Creme: http://audreymagazine.com/get-a-k-pop-complexion-too-faced-air-buffed-bb-creme

[26] Miracle Skin Transformer MEN SPF20: http://audreymagazine.com/miracle-skin-transformer-men-spf20

Copyright © 2013 Audrey Final Round. All rights reserved.